top of page

Editor-in-Chief | Student Voice News Media | VCCCD

I began writing for the Student Voice News Media (SVNM) in 2009 as a volunteer writer from Oxnard College. After a semester of writing for them, the advisor asked me to enroll in a journalism class at Moorpark College. Since SVNM was headquartered at Moorpark College, I decided to give it a try.

I have always had a passion for writing and reporting. I was able to learn the craft and develop myself as a staff writer and soon enough I was promoted to Oxnard College Campus Editor. Although I had never taken a journalism class before, the advisor was impressed with my writing style, ability and leadership. Within the first semester, I was offered the Editor-in-Chief position.

This was a big deal! It was my first time writing formally and publishing my stories as well, but I was the first Oxnard College student to be given this position. As the Editor-in-Chief, I created a new dynamic within the news crew and my first mission was to create equity within all three sister colleges. I especially wanted to give both Oxnard and Ventura Colleges a more prominent student and community voice.

I was lucky to have my brother Oscar join the team and help as a photo journalist, staff writer and editor. Without his help and brilliant mind, I would not have been able to succeed in that position. So, a huge THANK YOU to him for his support.

For a list of my news stories and profile pieces in the Student Voice, please click on the link below.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page