top of page

My First Story gets Front Page | Daily Trojan USC

After leaving the Student Voice News Media as the Editor-in-Chief for the Ventura County Community College District, I applied to be a staff writer at the Daily Trojan (DT) before I started my first semester at the University of Southern California.

About a week before class started, I was given the staff writer position. I was completely nervous. I didn't think I could cut it as a writer for the DT, since this was a daily newspaper and not a bi-weekly one like the one I was used to. Initially, I thought that I should at least try it out, which is what I did. The first story I wrote for the Daily Trojan made the front page on the first week that I had started school. It was a small story, but MY story nonetheless.

I was so excited. I didn't know how to react. I wanted to shout and tell every student that walked by, but I didn't want to be pegged as a lunatic. So, what did I do? Well, naturally, I quit the DT! Just like that. I knew in that moment that it would never be as sweet as it was on that day. You may think that I was scared or that maybe I didn't give myself a chance by quitting, but I have to say, I didn't make that choice out of fear. In that moment, I didn't need anything or anyone else to tell me that I belonged at USC.

To read my short story at the Daily Trojan, follow the link below.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page